Gold University of Minnesota M. Skip to main content. University of Minnesota.
Driven to Discover.

Three-in-Five Competition

Wednesday, April 17, 8:00-10:00
Meridian Ballrooms 2/3, Graduate Minneapolis

Organizers: Randy Schiestl, VP, R&D, Global Technology, Boston Scientific Corporation
Paul Rothweiler, Prototyping & Materials, Earl E. Bakken Medical Devices Center

The DMD Three-in-Five Competition is a way for researchers to get immediate feedback about their projects from leaders in medical technology research, engineering & development.

Authors of the top ten contributed papers that describe medical devices with commercial potential give a five minute presentation composed of no more than three slides. After presenters complete their pitches they answer questions from a panel of leading medical technology innovators. The Judge's Panel will base their decision upon four factors:

1) Quality of clinical need statement (problem)
2) Technical soundness of research (solution)
3) Presentation Quality
4) Fundability

The top three presenters will be awarded $500 and will be announced at the Keynote Luncheon on Thursday. We encourage each winning presentation to expand their paper for expedited review and publication in the ASME Journal of Medical Devices.


Presenters Include:

"A Soft High Force Hand Exoskeleton for Rehabilitation and Assistance Of Spinal Cord Injury and Stroke Individuals" (DMD2019-3268)
Hao Su, The City University of New York

"Constant Force Application on a Beating Swine Heart: Robotic Assistance for Mapping and Ablation Procedures" (DMD2019-3253)
Emma Schinstock, University of Minnesota

"The SMART Trocar: Force, Deviation, and Impedance Sensing Trocar for Enhanced Laparoscopic Surgery" (DMD2019-3244)
Jon Schrope, National Institutes of Child Health and Human Development

"Direct Illumination of Micro Stent Implants for the Treatment of Glaucoma" (DMD2019-3251)
Rohan Katoch, Georgia Institute of Technology

"Towards Flexible Steerable Instruments for Office-based Laryngeal Surgery" (DMD2019-3309)
Loris Fichera, Worcester Polytechnic Institute

2nd Place Winner "A Simple Manual Roller Wheel Insertion Tool for Electrode Array Insertion in Minimally Invasive Cochlear Implant Surgery"
Narendran Narasimhan, Vanderbilt University

GRAND PRIZE Winner "Design of a Folding-Frame Ergonomic Wheelchair"
Emily Hein, University of Minnesota

"Tool for Transbronchial Biopsies of Peripheral Lung Nodules"
Gills Fai, University of Minnesota Duluth

3rd Place Winner "Novel Inverted Tubular Design for Improved Endoscope Positioning"
Ankit Saxena, Penn State University

"Nasal Spray Device for Administration of Two-Part Drug Formulations"
Davin Rautiola, University of Minnesota

Panel Judges:

Stephanie Board, Abbott
John Deedrick, Fourth Element Capital
Pamela Goldberg, MDIC
Paul Hindrichs, ActiveOrtho
Pinar Karaca-Mandic, University of Minnesota
Del Lawson, 3M Medical Solutions Division
Michael O’Connor, Medtronic

Related Sessions:

Student Design Showcase
Emerging Medical Innovation Valuation Competition

Registration Opens Jan 2020

Stay connected with the DMD Conference through LinkedIn Twitter Facebook YouTube